John Hawkins

Dr John Hawkins

Welcome to my bit of the Maison de Stuff, home to a huge load of pictures, and my daily blog.

John's Journal / Blog
Main Index
Archives
RSS
John's Pictures
Main Index
Main Index (text only)
Categories
Recent Updates
RSS

Recent Entries:
Angel, Islington
Heath
Rollright Stones
Gavignet in the Garden
Burns Night
Amazing Discount
Monday
Sunday
Frosty Afternoon/Evening on the South Downs
Boiler Trouble
Fleet Street Pubs
Lasagne
Girls Back in London
Volnay
BB and Cashews
Hadrian's Wall
Pub
Wetherspoons Pubs
Boot Care
Plumpton ESW on the Heath
Wassail
Friday
Ox Drove Day Two
The Ox Drove
Recycling the Christmas Tree
New Year's Day
New Year's Eve
Saturday
Brighton
Back to the Muddy Ditch
Gevrey Chambertarp
Boxing Day
Christmas Day
Christmas Eve with Mum
Bubble Tea and the Heath Again
Breaky Bottom at the "Beach"
St. James's
Primrose Hill and The Heath
Bromley
Sunday
Local Friends
Breaky Bottom on the Heath
Holborn
Family Dinner
Breaky Bottom
Erika's Christmas Concert
The Usual Suspects
French Onion Soup on Ivinghoe Beacon
Lunch at the Pineapple
Hackney
Pevsner
Gloomy Heath
Christmas Tree
More Black Dog Hill on the Heath
Ardbeg
The Heath Yet Again
More Pubs
Tornado Potatoes
Sake on the Heath
MOT and More Black Dog Hill on the Heath
Black Dog Hill on the Heath
Autumnal
Knightsbridge Pubs
Vosne Romanee on the Heath
Inkpen / North Hants Ridgeway
Jeremy's Art Exhibition
Belgravia
Pevsner
Charing Cross and Strand Pubs
Sunday
Cooking in the Garden
St Albans
Thursday
Mocktails
Chair
Morning Walk to Hassocks
Lewes Bonfire
Sunset (ish) on the Heath
Kensington Pubs
Halloween
Heath
Pumpkin Carving
Paddington Pubs
Ashridge Estate
Prehistoric Family Day Out
Hereford
To Hereford
Hospitals
Saturday Evening with Mum
Ancre Hill
Fitzrovia Pubs
Frog
Tuesday
Erika's Weather Forecast
More Burgundy on the Heath and Dinner with Friends
Greenwich Pubs
ESW on the Heath
Marylebone Pubs
Smithfields Pubs
More Ye Old Mitre Research

Pictures:
London December 2023: Pictures from London in December 2023.London December 2023
December 2023
Pictures from London in December 2023.
London November 2023: Pictures from London in November 2023 including a trip down to Lewes for the famous bonfire festivities.London November 2023
November 2023
Pictures from London in November 2023 including a trip down to Lewes for the famous bonfire festivities.
Midlands and Hereford October 2023: Four nights away to visit Mum and Robin.
Midlands and Hereford October 2023
Saturday 21st - Tuesday 24th October 2023
Four nights away to visit Mum and Robin.
London October 2023: Pictures from London in October 2023.
London October 2023
October 2023
Pictures from London in October 2023.
Avebury Autumn Equinox 2023: Another overnight stay in the Avebury area for the Autumn Equinox. A particularly moving sunrise this year.Avebury Autumn Equinox 2023
Friday 22nd - Saturday 23rd September 2023
Another overnight stay in the Avebury area for the Autumn Equinox. A particularly moving sunrise this year.
Blog:
- Angel, Islington
††† [Wednesday 31st January 2024]
- Heath
††† [Tuesday 30th January 2024]
- Rollright Stones
††† [Saturday 27th January 2024]
- Gavignet in the Garden
††† [Friday 26th January 2024]
- Burns Night
††† [Thursday 25th January 2024]
- Amazing Discount
††† [Tuesday 23rd January 2024]
- Monday
††† [Monday 22nd January 2024]
- Sunday
††† [Sunday 21st January 2024]
- Frosty Afternoon/Evening on the South Downs
††† [Friday 19th January 2024]
- Boiler Trouble
††† [Thursday 18th January 2024]

Angel, Islington
[Wednesday 31st January 2024]
Out filming another pub video in the daytime.
[No comments]

Heath
[Tuesday 30th January 2024]
Some Bourgogne Hautes Cotes de Nuits on the heath.
[No comments]

Rollright Stones
[Saturday 27th January 2024]
Out for a walk in the Cotswolds today, to see the Rollright Stones.
[No comments]

Gavignet in the Garden
[Friday 26th January 2024]
Some Gavignet Bourgogne Hautes Cotes de Nuits out in the back garden in the evening.
[No comments]

Burns Night
[Thursday 25th January 2024]
Haggis, neeps and tatties for dinner. Erika wasn't keen!
[No comments]

Amazing Discount
[Tuesday 23rd January 2024]
I was amused by this discount in our local Sainsbury's.
[No comments]

Monday
[Monday 22nd January 2024]
A couple of pictures of a nice as I popped out towards the end of the afternoon to do a bit of shopping. Also Erika eating some Gallette des Rois.
[No comments]

Sunday
[Sunday 21st January 2024]
Mixed bag - Gallete des Rois, a walk on the heath, and Erika got crafty with an empty tissue box.
[No comments]

Frosty Afternoon/Evening on the South Downs
[Friday 19th January 2024]
I headed down to the South Downs for a walk this afternoon/evening. Made a failed attempt to do a bit more outdoor cooking on a hilltop - it was just too cold. Resorted instead to a bag of chips on the way home.
[No comments]

Boiler Trouble
[Thursday 18th January 2024]
Brief spot of boiler trouble today - the condensate pump wouldn't stop running - but it did eventually sort itself out.
[No comments]

Fleet Street Pubs
[Wednesday 17th January 2024]
Out in the day time filming for a video on Fleet Street pubs.
[No comments]

Lasagne
[Tuesday 16th January 2024]
Erika requested lasagne for dinner tonight - apparently she had missed my cooking while she was in Japan!
[No comments]

Girls Back in London
[Sunday 14th January 2024]
Chie and Erika returned from Japan today.
[No comments]

Volnay
[Saturday 13th January 2024]
Tried some Volnay for a change. Wasn't hugely impressed.
[No comments]

BB and Cashews
[Friday 12th January 2024]
Some Breaky Bottom and some cashew nuts for Friday Fizz on the heath.
[No comments]

Hadrian's Wall
[Thursday 11th January 2024]
My first time to visit Hadrian's Wall. Went there with my new chum Darren, who kindly did all the driving, so that we could both make videos - my offering on that front a sort of homage to Keith Floyd perhaps. Alas not many photos as we were focusing on the video!
[No comments]

Pub
[Wednesday 10th January 2024]
Took the train up to Lancaster, where I was met my new friend Darren, and we spent the evening in one of his local pubs ahead of our trip to Hadrian's Wall the following day.
[No comments]

Wetherspoons Pubs
[Tuesday 9th January 2024]
Did a tour of London's Wetherspoons pubs for a video today.
[No comments]

Boot Care
[Monday 8th January 2024]
Cleaned and waxed my walking boots today.
[No comments]

Plumpton ESW on the Heath
[Sunday 7th January 2024]
Took a bottle of Plumpton College's English sparkling to the heath. And some French Fries. Nice sunset. Unfortunately the wine was a bit faulty.
[No comments]

Wassail
[Saturday 6th January 2024]
Went down to Sussex for the Chanctonbury Ring Morris Men Wassail at Wobblegate cider.
[No comments]

Friday
[Friday 5th January 2024]
Spent most of the day at home editing the video from my walk of the previous two days. Once that was done, I headed to the Pineapple for a celebratory pint, and a chat with Mark, one of the regulars.
[No comments]

Ox Drove Day Two
[Thursday 4th January 2024]
The second day of my walk along the Ox Drove - woke up early and was treated to a lovely sunrise as I negotiated the surprisingly muddy track for the remainder of the walk to Shaftesbury.
[No comments]

The Ox Drove
[Wednesday 3rd January 2024]
Took the train to Salisbury to start a two day walk along the "Ox Drove" an old track that crosses Cranborne Chase.
[No comments]

Recycling the Christmas Tree
[Tuesday 2nd January 2024]
Took the Christmas tree to the recycling place. In the evening some Fourrier Gevrey Chambertin.
[No comments]

New Year's Day
[Monday 1st January 2024]
I think I just stayed in. Just one photo of my lunch!

[No comments]

New Year's Eve
[Sunday 31st December 2023]
I decided to make a relatively short daytime foray out to the Bourne End area near Maidenhead to revisit the "People's Republic of Cock Marsh" and the Bounty.
[No comments]

Saturday
[Saturday 30th December 2023]
Once again stayed close to home. Spent most of the daytime editing yesterday's video, then went to the heath for a bit towards the end of the afternoon but didn't take any photos.
[No comments]

Brighton
[Friday 29th December 2023]
Went down to Brighton for the daytime to film another pub video.
[No comments]

Back to the Muddy Ditch
[Thursday 28th December 2023]
Another day of rather gloomy weather forecasts, so again I put off a foray out of London and just headed to the heath for a bit in the late afternoon / early evening.
[No comments]

Gevrey Chambertarp
[Wednesday 27th December 2023]
The weather wasn't very good for the few days after Christmas, so I put off plans for a more ambitious foray into the countryside, and instead today just went to the heath for a bit and drank some Gevrey Chambertin under a tarp.
[No comments]

Boxing Day
[Tuesday 26th December 2023]
The girls flew off to Japan today. I made sag paneer for dinner in the evening.
[No comments]

Christmas Day
[Monday 25th December 2023]
The now traditional Christmas Day routine - mostly at home, with a visit to the Pineapple in the early afternoon.
[No comments]

Christmas Eve with Mum
[Sunday 24th December 2023]
Drove up to the East Midlands for a Christmas Eve lunch with Mum.
[No comments]

Bubble Tea and the Heath Again
[Saturday 23rd December 2023]
Went down to Camden with Erika to get bubble tea in the morning. In the afternoon I headed back to my new favourite spot on the heath, a muddy ditch.
[No comments]

Breaky Bottom at the "Beach"
[Friday 22nd December 2023]
Didn't manage to get out of London for the winter solstice this year, so instead went and sat on the "beach" at Bankside with Andrew and tried another of the 2018 vintages from Breaky Bottom.
[No comments]

St. James's
[Thursday 21st December 2023]
Went for a traditional pre-Christmas visit to Fortnum and Mason, and while in the neighbourhood had some wine in St. James's Park.
[No comments]

Primrose Hill and The Heath
[Wednesday 20th December 2023]
Went to Primrose Hill for a change to see what the local wine shops had to offer in terms of Burgundy. Then took said bottle to the heath.
[No comments]

Bromley
[Tuesday 19th December 2023]
I trekked all the way down to Bromley today to do just a few seconds of filming for a silly Christmas video.
[No comments]

Sunday
[Sunday 17th December 2023]
Didn't seem to leave home today!
[No comments]

Local Friends
[Saturday 16th December 2023]
I visited the heath in the afternoon for a bit, then in the evening our local friends came over for a pre-Christmas dinner.
[No comments]

Breaky Bottom on the Heath
[Friday 15th December 2023]
Tasting some of the Breaky Bottom 2018 vintage which I helped to harvest on the heath.
[No comments]

Holborn
[Thursday 14th December 2023]
In Holborn in the daytime to film another pubs video.
[No comments]

Family Dinner
[Wednesday 13th December 2023]
Another school Christmas concert for Erika in the daytime, then in the evening Erika and I headed down to Woking for a family get together.
[No comments]

Breaky Bottom
[Tuesday 12th December 2023]
A mixed case arrived from Breaky Bottom today including excitingly the newly released 2018 vintages which I helped to harvest!
[No comments]

Erika's Christmas Concert
[Monday 11th December 2023]
Actually the first of two school Christmas concerts Erika was in this week, this one surprisingly at the Old Vic!
[No comments]

The Usual Suspects
[Sunday 10th December 2023]
Out for Sunday afternoon / evening drinks with former colleagues.
[No comments]

French Onion Soup on Ivinghoe Beacon
[Saturday 9th December 2023]
One of my more successful outdoor cooking endeavours, on this occasion I attempted to make a French classic atop Ivinghoe Beacon, and it turned out rather well.
[No comments]

Lunch at the Pineapple
[Friday 8th December 2023]
Lunch at the Pineapple with Chie while Erika was at school.
[No comments]

Hackney
[Wednesday 6th December 2023]
In Hackney in the daytime to film another pub video.
[No comments]

Pevsner
[Tuesday 5th December 2023]
Another volume of Pevsner's guide to London architecture.
[No comments]

Gloomy Heath
[Sunday 3rd December 2023]
A gloomy late afternoon / early evening on the heath.
[No comments]

Christmas Tree
[Saturday 2nd December 2023]
Decorated the Christmas tree with Erika this evening.
[No comments]

More Black Dog Hill on the Heath
[Friday 1st December 2023]
This time tried the rosť. Another lovely sunset.
[No comments]

Ardbeg
[Thursday 30th November 2023]
Had a wee dram of an old bottle of Ardbeg I'd had hanging around for ages.

I think it probably has suffered a bit from being open too long?
[No comments]

The Heath Yet Again
[Wednesday 29th November 2023]
Once again onto the heath. Saw some "oak apples" which were quite eyecatching.
[No comments]

More Pubs
[Tuesday 28th November 2023]
Out filming in the daytime for another pub video - this time the edge of Soho on the Regents Street side.
[No comments]

Tornado Potatoes
[Sunday 26th November 2023]
Erika and Chie made "tornado potatoes" at lunchtime.
[No comments]

Sake on the Heath
[Saturday 25th November 2023]
On a whim decided to take some sake to the heath for a change. For the third day running a really nice sunset.
[No comments]

MOT and More Black Dog Hill on the Heath
[Friday 24th November 2023]
We took the car for its MOT in the daytime, and while we were waiting availed ourselves of the nearby shops and eateries. Later on I went for Black Dog Hill on the heath at sunset.
[No comments]

Black Dog Hill on the Heath
[Thursday 23rd November 2023]
Recently received a shipment of Black Dog Hill so took one to the heath for sunset today. A bit cold but rather lovely!
[No comments]

Autumnal
[Wednesday 22nd November 2023]
Out on the heath for a bit, and it was looking very autumnal.
[No comments]

Knightsbridge Pubs
[Tuesday 21st November 2023]
Another day's filming for a pub documentary - this time covering Knightsbridge, and as always hardly took any photos!
[No comments]

Vosne Romanee on the Heath
[Sunday 19th November 2023]
Some Vosne Romanee on the heath in the afternoon.
[No comments]

Inkpen / North Hants Ridgeway
[Saturday 18th November]
Went out for a walk today but neglected to take any photos!
[No comments]

Jeremy's Art Exhibition
[Friday 17th November 2023]
Went to the Sainsbury's in Finchley Road in the morning to pick up a Click and Collect order (not entirely successfully). Then in the evening went to my friend Jeremy's latest art exhibition.
[No comments]

Belgravia
[Thursday 16th November 2023]
Went down to Belgravia to visit the dentist. As is tradition I went for pizza at Oliveto afterwards, which is temporarily housed in one of the Olivo group's other restaurants owing to a fire earlier this year.
[No comments]

Pevsner
[Wednesday 15th November 2023]
Got another volume of Pevsner's London to help with making my pub videos.
[No comments]

Charing Cross and Strand Pubs
[Tuesday 14th November 2023]
Another afternoon out filming a pub video.
[No comments]

Sunday
[Sunday 12th November 2023]
[No comments]

Cooking in the Garden
[Saturday 11th November 2023]
I think the girls must have been out all day today - I went to the heath for a bit in the afternoon / early evening, then back at home decided on a whim to have a little fire in the back garden and cook my dinner on it.
[No comments]

St Albans
[Friday 10th November 2023]
Spent the day in St Albans doing a "collab" with another "YouTuber". Only took one photo though!
[No comments]

Thursday
[Thursday 9th November 2023]
[No comments]

Mocktails
[Wednesday 8th November 2023]
Erika made mocktails this evening using ingredients from a kit she'd been given for her birthday.
[No comments]

Chair
[Tuesday 7th November 2023]
Impressively Erika fixed a chair we'd had since she was tiny in her woodwork class.
[No comments]

Morning Walk to Hassocks
[Sunday 5th November 2023]
Having hunkered down overnight up in the hills I had an early morning walk to Hassocks then got the train from there back to London.
[No comments]

Lewes Bonfire
[Saturday 4th November 2023]
Attended Lewes Bonfire again, despite all the weather and the usual transport difficulties in doing so. This time with Andrew in tow.
[No comments]

Sunset (ish) on the Heath
[Friday 3rd November 2023]
Late afternoon / early evening on the heath for the sunset.
[No comments]

Kensington Pubs
[Thursday 2nd November 2023]
In Kensington in the afternoon to make another pub video. In the evening tried a new brand of fake steak called "Juicy Marbles"?!
[No comments]

Halloween
[Tuesday 31st October 2023]
The usual halloween silliness.
[No comments]

Heath
[Monday 30th October 2023]
Quick late afternoon / early evening visit to the heath.
[No comments]

Pumpkin Carving
[Sunday 29th October 2023]
An annual tradition of doing pumpking carving ahead of halloween with one of Erika's friends.
[No comments]

Paddington Pubs
[Saturday 28th October 2023]
Afternoon in Paddington to make another pub video.
[No comments]

Ashridge Estate
[Friday 27th October 2023]
Went for a walk around some of the Ashridge Estate, near Ivinghoe Beacon. I was focusing on taking video so hardly took any photos. Just one or two of mushrooms.
[No comments]

Prehistoric Family Day Out
[Thursday 26th October 2023]
A halloween themed prehistoric family day out at a place called Celtic Harmony somewhere north of London.
[No comments]

Hereford
[Tuesday 24th October 2023]
Spent the daytime having a wander round Hereford, taking in the cathedral and some of the shops. Then back to Robin's new place again in the evening.
[No comments]

To Hereford
[Monday 23rd October 2023]
Drove from the East Midlands to Hereford, where we'd be staying at Robin's new place for the next two nights. Stopped off for lunch on the way at the Black Swan at Much Dewchurch.
[No comments]

Hospitals
[Sunday 22nd October 2023]
We were hoping to have a nice day with Mum but ended up spending practically the whole of the daytime waiting around in hospitals, which was rather disappointing. Did at least still manage to have a Sunday roast at the end of the day.
[No comments]

Saturday Evening with Mum
[Saturday 21st October 2023]
Drove up to the Midlands in the afternoon and in the evening went out for dinner with Mum at her local Chinese restaurant.
[No comments]

Ancre Hill
[Friday 20th October 2023]
Some Ancre Hill in the back garden.
[No comments]

Fitzrovia Pubs
[Thursday 19th October 2023]
Spent the afternoon in Fitzrovia making a pub video.
[No comments]

Frog
[Wednesday 18th October 2023]
A frog in the back garden again.
[No comments]

Tuesday
[Tuesday 17th October 2023]
A quick visit to the heath.
[No comments]

Erika's Weather Forecast
[Monday 16th October 2023]
Erika did a weather forecast.
[No comments]

More Burgundy on the Heath and Dinner with Friends
[Sunday 15th October 2023]
Some Burgundy on the heath in the afternoon / early evening then round to our local friends' place for dinner.
[No comments]

Greenwich Pubs
[Saturday 14th October 2023]
Down to Greenwich to make another pub video. This time with Andrew in tow.
[No comments]

ESW on the Heath
[Friday 13th October 2023]
Early evening on the heath for some ESW and whatever the sunset had to show for itself.
[No comments]

Marylebone Pubs
[Thursday 12th October 2023]
In Marylebone to make another pubs video.
[No comments]

Smithfields Pubs
[Wednesday 11th October 2023]
Spent the day making a video about Smithfields Pubs.
[No comments]

More Ye Old Mitre Research
[Tuesday 10th October 2023]
Spent some of the daytime in and around Ye Old Mitre doing historic research. Then went to the Guildhall Library to look up some old records.
[No comments]